Kazakos, Jessica

Kazakos, Jessica

by Daniel Kazakos -
Number of replies: 3

It was very stressful!  It was stressful on the teacher end, and stressful on the parent side, and stressful on the community member side.  I was a resource teacher for 4th-11th graders and had to come up with full lessons for weeks at a time.  I also had to hold weekly hour-long appointments with my more than a dozen students.  It was stressful because none of my students had devices or internet; so I had to give everything over the phone.  My students (most) did not have the ability to be most successful that way.  We just did our best each time.   As a parent, I had six school-age children (one graduated last week from high school!) from kindergarten to a senior in high school.  I have children that are not most successful doing all of their work via technology.  My kinder and 1st grader, I had to sit with for every assignment, video conference, and telephone call. It was very overwhelming to do all their work with them as well as teach my students.  I am also very active in the education of my community, so that was also stressful to see how the school staff and other parents were managing things as well.  It was very difficult that not all families had access to internet and devices.  At the end of the day, my family, my students, and my community have survived!  I believe we all did the best that we could. 

In reply to Daniel Kazakos

Re: Kazakos, Jessica

by Amber Gutierrez -

Hi Jessica,